To comply with Apple’s updated App Store guidelines, Instagram added the option to delete your account directly through the app.
While it was previously possible to delete your Instagram Account only through a web browser, Apple’s policy stated that developers that offer apps with account creation must also support the deletion of accounts through the app.
With over 1 billion active users, Instagram is the most popular social networking platform behind Facebook. That said, you might simply be bored with the platform, and want to delete your account.
You must be aware that account deletion is permanent and once completed, it deletes all the data on your profile, including your followers.
That said, you still have 30 days after requesting deletion to stop the process. All you have to do is log back into your account. If you want to temporarily stop using Instagram, you can instead deactivate your Instagram account.
The simplest way for iPhone users to delete their Instagram accounts is directly from the app.
With several ex-employees of Google, Apple, and even Meta (previously Facebook) revealing that Instagram is designed to be addictive, this process might be more of a mental ordeal than you think. Getting the detox, however, can surely impact your mental health and emotional well-being.
If you cannot access your phone or the app does not seem to work for some reason, you can delete your account from a computer, tablet, or phone through the use of a web browser.
According to Instagram, it may take up to 90 days after your request to complete the deletion process.
During that period, your content will remain in the backup storage for recovery in case of an error or some other problematic event. The information may also be kept for legal issues, terms violations, or harm prevention efforts.
If you are within the 30-day time period of deleting your account, you can recover all your data simply by logging in with your Instagram credentials.
If your account has been deleted, you can sign up again with the same username as long as it has not been taken up by a new Instagram user.
The new account will not have any data from the previous account, including Posts, DMs, and followers.
However, if your account has been removed from Instagram for violating their Community Guidelines, you may not be able to use the same username to create an account.
Instagram also allows you to have your account disappear from public view without having to delete it.
To suspend your account, however, you will have to access the web version of Instagram.
To re-enable your account, simply log in using the app or website. You should remember that an account can be suspended only once a week, and logging back in will make your posts and other data visible to your followers.